Easy Low Fat Spinach Pesto

11 09 2012

I am a lazy vegan on a budget, and between my two jobs I just don’t have a lot of time to spend cooking. Although I grow my own basil and love fresh pesto, I also do not have the money to spend on high quality olive oil (and I make pesto a lot, having a lower fat/oil version is also plus).

To get to the point, I have tested and manipulated several non-oil  recipes for  pesto, here is one of the better resulting sauces.

Low Fat Spinach Pesto

  • 6 oz Firm Silken Tofu (half of a soft pack box)
  • 3/4 C Frozen Spinach ( I like to ‘hide’ spinach in everything)
  • 3/4 C fresh basil (loosely packed)
  • 1/3- C Vegetable Broth (use 1/2 cup tor a thinner sauce)
  • 2 Cloves Garlic
  • 2 T Oil
  • 2 T Nutritional Yeast
  • 1 T Dried Oregano
  • Salt & Pepper to taste

Optional items to add after processing:

  • Imitation Bacon bits
  • Sun Dried Tomatoes
  • Hot Pepper Flakes

Combine all ingredients in a high-powered blender or food processor and blend until smooth. Heat on stove and serve over your favorite pasta.

Actions

Information




